Banana Hammock Escapades

…Your reality is what you make it.

New Kid on the Block

1 Comment

Exploration of the new neighborhood.

Exploration of the new neighborhood.

IMG_0700

IMG_0701

IMG_0702 IMG_0703

IMG_0704

IMG_0733IMG_0730 IMG_0731IMG_0753 IMG_0744IMG_0728 IMG_0764 IMG_0754 IMG_0763 IMG_0737 IMG_0752 IMG_0735

Well, this is the post that I thought was never going to happen — me, writing from Costa Rica. Aside from some major hang-ups, I made it.  Sara and I are officially living in Costa Rica – and I must say – it is beautiful!  My cat, Briley, even made it safe and sound here.  That though, is an entirely different story.  Due in part, to a lack of information and some minor hang-ups, Briley’s arrival was much more difficult and expensive.  Originally, I was set to take her aboard the plane with me as a carry-on, but that didn’t quite work out as planned.  I had paid to have her health certificate expedited to Austin, in order to make sure it arrived on time and within the specified ten-day time period for which it is valid, but UPS completely botched that one.  Instead, I ended up having to fly her on another flight AND shell out an additional $1,200 in flight fare charges and taxes.  Lesson learned, I will never use UPS again.  I had intended traveling and exploring the country whenever I arrived, but that episode drastically depleted my savings and unfortunately put quite the damper on my initial travel plans and whatnot.  Instead, I have hardly had two colones to rub together.  On the bright side, I am quite impressed with budgeting skills.  I am always impressed with myself when I can wiggle out of a tight space unscathed.

I had to immediately start looking for a job whenever I arrived.  It was a little more difficult than I had actually anticipated.  I filled out countless applications and went to a hand full of interviews, with no luck.  I began to panic and I started to wonder if I had gotten myself into a debacle that even I would not be able to wiggle out of.  My money was dwindling quickly and I had absolutely no job prospects in the foreseeable future, I was convinced that perhaps I had made the wrong decision in packing up my life and going into the unknown.  Each passing day I grew more and more frantic, what was I going to do?  I didn’t even have enough money to change my “in case shit hits the fan” flight ticket to go back to the States.  Just as I was more convinced than ever that everything was quickly going down the drain, I got that phone call that changed my entire outlook.  I had another interview and I had a good feeling about this one.  Perhaps it was my positive outlook that helped me land the job; along with being qualified for the position but either way, I landed the job!  It had happened, the moment that I had fantasized about for longer than I care to admit.  I am an English teacher.  That is still a weird statement for me to say – for more reasons than one.  So, I am now teaching English for Berlitz language school in San Pedro.  I’m officially a grown-up, when did this happen?  I’m the girl who has long been buying “professional” clothing with the anticipation of having to wear it some unknown day in the future, perhaps never.  I have been “professional” for less than three weeks and I have already almost fallen in my heels more times than I can count and worn my pencil skirt the wrong way (luckily I figured out how my skirt was actually intended to be worn before I made it into the classroom.)

Who know 2013 would get off to such a great start?  I am quite proud of myself and I don’t say that too often.  I have accomplished everything I set out to do AND I did it in the time frame that I mapped out for myself.  I wanted to be living in another country by the start of 2013 (check, I moved on New Year’s eve,) I wanted to find a teaching position by my 27th birthday (check – I started teaching on Monday, which just so happened to be my birthday,) and I wanted a new perspective on life (while that is still a work-in-progress, I feel I am evolving as a person each day.)  Salud to new beginnings!  I am not typically one for New Year’s resolutions, but it looks as if some of the pieces are falling right into place.  I hope everyone’s New Year’s resolutions are working out as well as mine have been.  Inch by inch, everything is a cinch.  I saw that great little saying on the back of someone’s car a few years back and ever since, I have made it my mantra.  I would say that it’s working out quite well.  Now, if only I could carve out enough time and energy to stay on top of this blog.  I hope you’ll decide to stick around and tag along for the adventure that is unfolding.

Ah, how could I forget, for all you Southerners out there in the blog-o-sphere, I hope you are drinking in (pun intended) all the wonderful festivities that go along with time of the year in the Deep South.  Although I am not able to partake in all the festivities this year, I am celebrating in spirit.  I have made sure to wear my green, gold and purple attire.  For those of you who are not familiar with Mardi Gras, it is only the most stupendous time one can have in the South.  Mardi Gras for Southerners means grandiose costumes, King Cakes, millions of plastic beads and toys, MoonPies and drunken debauchery.  If this tickles your pickle and you ever find yourself in the Deep South during this time of year, make your way over to New Orleans, Louisiana or Mobile, Alabama and partake in the South’s deeply rooted tradition!    Laissez les bons temps rouler!

mardi-gras-5

This photo is intended only to illustrate the scenery of Mardi Gras, I do not own this photo.

 

One thought on “New Kid on the Block

  1. Hey Turd Bucket ;) How is everything going in Costa Rica?? It looks like you had a rough time getting the kitty there? Well hopefully you didnt spend all your money. You working yet? Im about to drive to California in 2 weeks for the big move! Ill be living in a place called Paso Robles, Ca. Check it out if you get some time. Its the 3rd largest wine region in California, right behind Napa andSonoma. It seems like a cool spot! Anywho I hope all is well! Stay in touch, Matt

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

